I started seeing these super cute colorful round sandwiches on Pinterest and had to see what the deal was with all these pins. Martha Stewart has lots of macaron displays and I started researching them.

Now, I've seen a lot of people and sites that confuse French Macarons with macaroons. They're not the same. They're two different things. Both are gluten free but the French macaron is more of a meringue cookie (from egg whites) and the macaroon is made of shredded coconut and condensed milk. They're done in ten minutes, while a macaron is more difficult and takes about an hour to make.

Picture
lovelylittledetails.com

See the difference,Big difference!

I really didn't know about how a macaron was supposed to taste or look so I kept researching and found out it's supposed to be a crispy shell with a soft gooey melt-in-your-mouth center with a nutty flavor.

Picture
Www.yuppiechef.com

The French macaron, pronounced macarOHn, is made with almond flour, egg whites and sugar. A lot of people have trouble with them because if you under mix you don't get the cute ruffly bottom, known as feet, and if you over mix then they won't get the hard shell and fluffy top. I was super scared and intimidated to try them at first.

Once they're piped onto the cookie sheet, you must wait for thirty minutes for them to rest. Then you put them in the oven for 10-13 minutes. Once you see the "feet" you will do a happy dance, because you got the batter just right :)

Picture
Yay, feet!!

What's super fun about Macarons, is that you can make them in any and all colors! I've only done two batches so I've only done these two colors but I want to make more, more colors!!

Aside from the infinite possibility of colors there's also a wide range of fillings to put inside. From buttercream and meringue to ganache and jellies. There's tons of combinations to work and experiment with. The possibilities are endless! Can you tell I'm a bit obsessed :)

My first batch I went basic and added Nutella as a filling. Yum, Macarons and Nutella-Heaven!!

The second was amaretto buttercream. Oh, that one was just right, not too sweet and not bland, just delicious.

Picture
Look at those beautiful "feet"

I've been busy with cookie orders so I haven't had a chance to make some Macarons, but the first break I get I will make some mango macaron or some snickers macaron, oh yeah, I can't wait.

And just like fine wine, they taste better the longer they sit in the fridge (covered).

So if you can't go to France and taste the real deal, place your order with me ;) but if you are lucky to go to France, make sure and bring me some authentic French Macarons!




Leave a Reply.